Personal tools

The Randolph Caldecott Medal Image

Sun in the Moon - Moon in the Dark

"Sun in the moon, moon in the dark,"
from The House in the Night

The Randolph Caldecott Medal

The Caldecott Medal is awarded annually to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children published that year by the Association of Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association. It is named in honor of the nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott and is the most prestigious American children's book award for an illustrator.

Beth was announced as the 2009 winner of the Caldecott on January 26, 2009. She received the actual medal on July 12, 2009 at the annual conference of the American Library Association in Chicago. As part of the ceremony Beth delivered this speech.

Caldecott Medal Recipients

Year Illustrator Book
Sophie Blackall
Hello Lighthouse
Matthew Cordell
Wolf in the Snow
Javaka Steptoe
Radiant Child: The Story of Young Artist Jean-Michel Basquiat
Sophie Blackall
Finding Winnie: The True Story of the World's Most Famous Bear
Dan Santat
The Adventures of Beekle: The Unimaginary Friend
Brian Floca
Jon Klassen
This Is Not My Hat
Chris Raschka
A Ball for Daisy
2011 Erin E. Stead A Sick Day for Amos McGee
2010 Jerry Pinkney The Lion and the Mouse
2009 Beth Krommes The House in the Night
2008 Brian Selznick The Invention of Hugo Cabret
2007 David Wiesner Flotsam
2006 Chris Raschka The Hello, Goodbye Window
2005 Kevin Henkes Kitten's First Full Moon
2004 Mordicai Gerstein The Man Who Walked Between the Towers
2003 Eric Rohmann My Friend Rabbit
2002 David Wiesner The Three Pigs
2001 David Small So You Want to Be President?
2000 Simms Taback Joseph Had a Little Overcoat
1999 Mary Azarian Snowflake Bentley
1998 Paul O. Zelinsky Rapunzel
1997 David Wisniewski Golem
1996 Peggy Rathmann Officer Buckle and Gloria
1995 David Diaz Smoky Night
1994 Allen Say Grandfather's Journey
1993 Emily Arnold McCully Mirette on the High Wire
1992 David Wiesner Tuesday
1991 David Macaulay Black and White
1990 Ed Young Lon Po Po: A Red-Riding Hood Story from China
1989 Stephen Gammell Song and Dance Man
1988 John Schoenherr Owl Moon
1987 Richard Egielski Hey, Al
1986 Chris Van Allsburg The Polar Express
1985 Trina Schart Hyman Saint George and the Dragon
1984 Alice and Martin Provensen The Glorious Flight: Across the Channel with Louis Bleriot
1983 Marcia Brown Shadow
1982 Chris Van Allsburg Jumanji
1981 Arnold Lobel Fables
1980 Barbara Cooney Ox-Cart Man
1979 Paul Goble The Girl Who Loved Wild Horses
1978 Peter Spier Noah's Ark
1977 Leo and Diane Dillon Ashanti to Zulu: African Traditions
1976 Leo and Diane Dillon Why Mosquitoes Buzz in People's Ears
1975 Gerald McDermott Arrow to the Sun
1974 Margot Zemach Duffy and the Devil
1973 Blair Lent The Funny Little Woman
1972 Nonny Hogrogian One Fine Day
1971 Gail E. Haley A Story a Story
1970 William Steig Sylvester and the Magic Pebble
1969 Uri Shulevitz The Fool of the World and the Flying Ship
1968 Ed Emberley Drummer Hoff
1967 Evaline Ness Sam, Bangs, and Moonshine
1966 Nonny Hogrogian Always Room for One More
1965 Beni Montresor May I Bring a Friend?
1964 Maurice Sendak Where the Wild Things Are
1963 Ezra Jack Keats The Snowy Day
1962 Marcia Brown Once a Mouse
1961 Nicolas Sidjakov Baboushka and the Three Kings
1960 Marie Hall Ets Nine Days to Christmas
1959 Barbara Cooney Chanticleer and the Fox
1958 Robert McCloskey Time of Wonder
1957 Marc Simont A Tree is Nice
1956 Feodor Rojankovsky Frog Went A-Courtin'
1955 Marcia Brown Cinderella, or the Little Glass Slipper
1954 Ludwig Bemelmans Madeline's Rescue
1953 Lynd Ward The Biggest Bear
1952 Nicholas Mordvinoff Finders Keepers
1951 Katherine Milhous The Egg Tree
1950 Leo Politi Song of the Swallows
1949 Berta and Elmer Hader The Big Snow
1948 Roger Duvoisin White Snow, Bright Snow
1947 Leonard Weisgard The Little Island
1946 Maud and Miska Petersham The Rooster Crows
1945 Elizabeth Orton Jones Prayer for a Child
1944 Louis Slobodkin Many Moons
1943 Virginia Lee Burton The Little House
1942 Robert McCloskey Make Way for Ducklings
1941 Robert Lawson They Were Strong and Good
1940 Ingri and Edgar Parin d'Aulaire Abraham Lincoln
1939 Thomas Handforth Mei Li
1938 Dorothy P. Lathrop Animals of the Bible